Board of Trustees & Staff

The Library Board of Trustees is a group of elected Marblehead citizen volunteers to whom the governing of the Library is entrusted. As the link between the Library and the community, their main responsibilities include hiring and evaluating the library director, establishing policy and plans, determining the final budget and conducting public relations. Six trustees serve staggered terms of three years each.

To reach the Board of Trustees, please email or call 781-631-1481.
Gary Amberik, Chair
John Williams, Vice Chair
Katherine Barker
Jennifer Jewell
Deb Payson
David Ross

Regular meetings of the Board of Trustees are usually held on the first Monday of the month at 6:30 pm at the Interim Library at 3 Brook Road.  Meetings are posted on the Town of Marblehead website and open to the public.


The Board of Trustees gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the Second Century Fund, an endowment fund that is dedicated to supporting the Library, providing resources that ensure excellence in collections, materials, and access.

As an endowment, the permanent fund generates income to supplement, not to replace, public support provided by the Town of Marblehead, ensuring that the Library’s collections meet outstanding levels of breadth and currency that best serves its citizens. Since its inception, the fund has responded to a variety of librarian requests and initiatives: a threatening escalation in periodical prices, the first CD-ROMs, the first DVDs, and the first audio books for young adults, a unique art encyclopedia, and a need for updated projection/screening equipment, providing mobile hotspots and Chromebooks for the Library of Things, among many others.

The Abbot Public Library has a proud tradition of public and private support that can be traced from its beginnings in 1878 with the founding gift from Benjamin Abbot. The Second Century Fund was started in 1994 and has raised close to $750,000.00 under the leadership of Judith P. Eissner, its chair. Contributions in any amount to the fund are most welcome. All donations are tax deductible to the extent provided by law.

For more information or inquiries about the Second Century Fund and the continuing endowment of Abbot Public Library, please contact Trustee, Paul Taylor at  Gifts to the Second Century Fund should be addressed to Second Century Fund, c/o Abbot Public Library, 235 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945






Kimberly Grad

Library Director

Morgan Yeo

 Assistant Director

Rachael Meneades

Head of Technical Services

Jeremy Mele

Circulation Coordinator

Marcia Cannon

Head of Children’s Services

Bianca Hezekiah

Head of Teen Services

Wesley Sueker

Head of Adult Services