Abbot Public Library Foundation

aeriel views of abbot hall and the town of marblehead

Abbot Public Library Foundation Logo

As they began to consider the cost of a major renovation, including the replacement of an outdated and failing infrastructure system, the trustees of the Abbot Public Library determined that there was a need for an official fund-raising arm of the library.

The Abbot Public Library Foundation was incorporated and accepted by the Secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts on November 26, 2014.  On March 30, 2015, the Foundation was granted exemption from Federal Income Tax status under section 501(c)(3) by the Department of the Treasury.  Contributions to the Foundation are deductible under Section 170 of the Code.

In addition to securing private funding to assist in the town-approved renovation, the Foundation seeks to honor the long-time tradition of a public and private partnership to ensure that the Abbot Public Library continues to serve the Marblehead community as the center of knowledge, information, and a welcoming gathering place for all.

The Foundation is managed by a Board of Directors who consult and work in collaboration with the Abbot Public Library Board of Trustees and the Library Director.  


Empower the Abbot Public Library to continue to update and provide the historic town of Marblehead with a modern library, a multi-use gathering place, a center of knowledge, culture and innovation for the community. Provide an up-to-date, vital resource for present and future generations.



Serve as the fund-raising arm of the Abbot Public Library by soliciting and acquiring gifts, grants, endowments, bequests, and pledges from individuals and organizations for capital improvements and programs of the Abbot Public Library.  The goal is to enrich, not replace traditional tax-based support for the Abbot Public Library.  We are committed to incorporating and upholding the values of collaboration, innovation, service and inclusion in all aspects of our work.


Foundation Directors

President: EuRim Chun

Vice President: Meryl Thompson

Treasurer: Laurie Flowers

Secretary: Maeve Rice

Director: Cathe Chiaramonte

Director: John Donovan

Director: Ted Grant

Director: Ann Mizner McKay

Director: Michael Shanahan

Director: Phyllis B. Smith

Director/Trustee Liaison: Deb Payson

Ex-officio/Library Director: Kimberly Grad

Find out how you can give!

The Abbot Public Library Foundation is a non-profit 501c3 organization.

abbot public library foundation logo